Innocence lost

When we were children,
There were monsters in our closets,
At our windows,
Waiting in the dark.

Now we are older
Outgrowing such notions-
There is nothing in the dark
Waiting to eat us.

I am scared of the light.

As I have grown I have learned of nightmares
Far worse than those in the dark.
Each step I take,
Each book I read,
I learn of another harsh reality
More garish than the last.

When I was a child,
The fear ended with the dawn,
And I was left to play.
How I yearn for that innocence lost,
How I yearn to be simply afraid of the dark.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

