The Lie

 

One way out
One way out
I sat, waiting

The door opened,
I entered,
Sitting, he spoke
My family and then
The questions

One after another
Some I answered
Truth
Yes,
Yes,
No,
Yes,
But then came the great lie.
I was sure he would know
My cheeks flushed red
No I said
I justified
No other way will free me
No other way can give me peace
God has told me to do this

Justification is a powerful thing. In the church they will talk of how sinners will justify their actions, but I was trying to justify going on a mission. Poor choice really, but I saw it as my only hope. So I lied about my worthiness in the interview (later came clean to my mission president) and went. Because I couldn’t fathom life not on a mission. Family, friends and society had all but forced it on me.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

