I can see your face

I wrote this one as a mixture of seeing people’s reactions to me walking down the street while holding another man’s hand, and the daily reactions I get while wearing a rainbow bracelet.

As you try to say I love you
You look away, avert your gaze
Filled with distaste
Fear and hate
You say love the sinner hate the sin
But the line is blurred

I hear the cry religion
But God is love
And when I walk
Holding hands with another man
I can see your face
You never knew God

Look at me
Meet my gaze
Look into my eyes
See my face
Filled with a sorrow untold that you don’t accept me
I can see your face
But you won’t meet my gaze

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

